Gratitude October 19, 2014: The kind of support I hope for you all

comment 1
chronic pain / fibromyalgia

Paperwork is more anxiety-producing than ever before. Eric* (my PAM/Prince Among Men) helped me fill out my dad’s request to the Air Force for Dad’s honorable discharge certificate (required for Dad’s veteran aid and attendance benefits) and took the paper to my dad’s assisted living place for him to sign. Eric* then came home, put the form in an envelope, addressed and stamped it, and put it with the mail. I feel lighter already.

Tomorrow/today, Eric* will help me file for disability, another scary I’ve been putting off for months.

Can you believe I was Ms. Efficiency at work (for a couple decades) and successfully managed a team of technical writers for six years? Thank you, Fibromyalgia. :(.  But I am a lucky girl, husband-wise to begin with.

 

The Author

'Rerekuka' because when I was two, my Daddio would ask, "What's your name?" and I would answer: "Name. Rerekuka."

1 Comment

  1. I remember when I finally filed for disability. It took me a long time to get there and a lot of urging from my friends. I felt like I was giving up, found it scary and like you I used to do circles around people!!! I had worked my whole adult life up until the last 4 years. And to be honest, it was a welcome relief !!! We worked all our lives so we deserve help when we need it!! So glad you have a wonderful husband who supports you!!!!! Unfortunately I didn’t have that and we separated 3 years ago. It’s been really hard but do have great friends who will never leave my side and 3 great kids!!!! Hugs, Cathy

    Like

Leave a comment