We make plans ~ God laughs. Or was that the other guy?

comment 1
chronic pain / fibromyalgia

Eric is a roller coaster enthusiast. Until I met him, I didn’t know they existed and actually organized. He can tell you just about any detail of any major roller coaster in the US, even given only a brief glimpse on TV or the internet. So, although amusement parks aren’t my usual adult destination, we’ve been to a few together. The one I really like is Knobles Groves, in Pennsylvania. It is family run, the people are warm and friendly, the food is pretty good, it’s set in beautiful woods, and around this time of year, it hosts the Phall Phun Phest, a Haloween-y fun night for families and roller coaster enthusiasts.

On top of all that, I found that Tony Tiger, my teddy bear since I was a baby, whom I refused to leave at my Nana’s house, came from Knobles, where we had coincidentally picnicked as kids. My Nana had won him at the ball throwing booth, some time before I was born. So I’ve had him all my life, including sleeping with him whenever I was sad or single as an adult.

The plan was to make this trip a pilgrimage for Tony, back to the place of his birth. Unfortunately, the necessarily frenetic travel plans of planes and cars, festival reveling, and walking around the park, made the trip prohibitive for me. I had come back from California under an easy schedule a week and a half ago, and had crashed and remained crashed ever since. So the night before the pilgrimage to Knobles, I had to cancel my trip. Me sad. Eric  sad. Tony probably sad if he could talk.

So Eric took off on Friday morning and will return Sunday night.

Today while resting, I kept hearing Eric sounds ~ his feet clumping up the creaking stairs, his breat at the top, the hum of the electric toothbrush, music coming from the computer room. I called him a few times, followed by silence, then got up to find him ~ nothing. I realized I was hearing things and remembered being asked that when being treated for anxiety. This was it. I was crazy. I shakily made my way back to bed and pulled the covers over myself. I fell asleep, and a couple minutes after waking, realized it was a dream.

So I got my spookiness in after all.

Next year, Tony.

The Author

'Rerekuka' because when I was two, my Daddio would ask, "What's your name?" and I would answer: "Name. Rerekuka."

1 Comment

  1. I feel your pain!! It sucks to pay the piper after a ‘vacation’ or even after just doing simple things like too many things in one day. I am the worst one for going for it when I am feeling better and then face planting into my bed for 2-3 days. Then I do it all over again, trying to pace myself, sometimes succeeding and lots of the time not!!!

    Like

Leave a comment